New Name

I’ve noticed lately that I have a new name: Ms. Ann.

“Hi, Ms. Ann. It’s good to see you.” That recent greeting came from a friend who attends Silver Sneakers at the YMCA. But several church friends have been addressing me as Ms. (pronounced Miz.) Ann for quite some time. This time I paid attention and it got me to thinking of my other names.

My great-granddaughter who lives in Ireland calls us her great-grandpa and granny who live-in-the-woods. Yes, we have woods near our home, so Abigail makes this sweet distinction between us and her other great-grandparents. Our grandchildren call me Granny. I chose this because their grandpa started calling the grandkids by animal names and they wanted a name for me. Granny Goat seems to fit, and for a while one grandson called me Goat, much to the chagrin of guests.

To our children I am Mom or Madre (from two who took Spanish in high school). Just as my siblings differed on what each of us called our mother – I chose Mother while others used Mama, Mom, and Mommy.

When I married I became Mrs. Coker, and like many engaged girls, I wrote that name over and again on scraps of paper: Mrs. William B. Coker, Mrs. W.B. Coker, and Ann Coker. My new name brought joy. At our first pastorate in Mississippi people called me Sister Coker while their pastor was Brother Coker. It came out as Bruder Coker from the children. After we moved to Kentucky and then to Indiana, my name became Mrs. Coker or simply Ann.

My given name is after my grandmother who was Frances Ann. I’m glad my parents turned it around and named me Ann Frances. I‘ve never been fond of Frances, probably because my school friends teased me about it. My younger sisters are the only ones who get away with calling me Annie. If I had named myself, I would have chosen Anna. It has more class.

All this talk of a new name connected me to Scripture, for Zion “will be called by a new name” (Isaiah 62:2, NIV), and “to the one who is victorious . . . [Christ] will give that person a white stone with a new name written on it” (Revelation 2:17). But my favorite reference is: “I have summoned you by name; you are mine” (Isaiah 43:1), for God knows my name. I am His beloved, “precious and honored” in His sight because of His personal love for me (v. 4).

When we get down to the bottom line, my name is nothing (although it’s personal and meaningful) compared to His “great name” (Joshua 7:9). My allegiance to His name connects me with His power and love. It’s His great name that I proclaim and exalt. All of life is meant to honor and glorify His name. Amen.

 

One thought on “New Name”

  1. Didn’t know that our younger sister also called you Annie, and what does our brother call you? What did your children’s friends call you? Mine attached Miss, or Miz to my first name. — I truly love your thoughts on paper (or blogs). Love you, too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

